Verified by 09/23 KS
Why is this important?
To help with upcoming Google storage limits, GCISD is going to recover unused storage from staff who has left. The contents of these inactive Google Drives will be removed*. 🚨 Any documents shared from these drives will be gone.
How do I find shared items:
1️⃣ Shared with me:
In your Google Drive, find the Shared with me button on the left sidebar.
All of these are items that have been shared with you! They may be in a shared drive, but many of them could also be in a drive that is going to be removed.
2️⃣ Choose a file and open it:
When you open the file, go to File > Details.
In the popup window, you will see the owner and location of the file.
3️⃣ What do I do with the file?
Is the owner still in the district?
- If the file/folder is collaborative, they should move it to a shared folder.
Is the owner no longer in the district?
- If the file/folder is collaborative, make a copy and move it to a shared folder. If it is not collaborative, make a copy and keep it in your drive.
If the file belongs to a user who is no longer in GCISD, make a copy and either store it in a shared drive or in your drive!
4️⃣ Copying the file
Within the file, go to File > Make a copy. This automatically makes a copy that will save to your drive. From there, move it to a shared drive if it is collaborative and leave it in your drive if it is not.
(*Note: Federal retention policies are still enforced.)